top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen Stack

My Favorite Places to Eat in Milwaukee This Summer!

Updated: Jul 18, 2019



Creating a blog based in and around Milwaukee has allowed me to discover so many new places. Places I thought only existed on Instagram hundreds of miles away. Because I have gotten to know the city more, I have found a few new favorite places that are TO DIE for. These places include areas for breakfast and dinner, as well as lunch and tasty treats as well!



Breakfast:




The Sweet Diner: I visited the Sweet Diner with my boyfriend of 3 years for our anniversary. It was so special and I have definitely made an effort to visit multiple times after our date! This restaurant in particular is perfect for food Instagram photos! The white throughout the restaurant is very aesthetically pleasing and allows the perfect amount of light for photos. My favorite is pretty basic, but I love their Belgian waffles. The waffles come with a warm berry glaze, fresh berries, and maple syrup on the side. I guess you could say I have some sort of a sweat tooth, but when the toppings are added in moderation it creates a delicious mouth-watering meal.



Zisters: I had the chance to go to Zisters with my sister! The restaurant is somewhat small, but the interior is beautiful. Again, the white makes it very aesthetically pleasing and also allow for beautiful photos.



Pilcrow Coffee: Considering I just graduated from high school, for the past eight months I have found myself studying in coffee shops for HOURS. Having days worth of homework that was expected to be done in less than 24 hours was to say the least a challenge. (And annoying too.) I have discovered I get my work done best when I’m in a comfortable/cozy kind of environment. One of these comfy environments was at Pilcrow Coffee. I don’t have a particular favorite on the menu, but their coffee is definitely worth the stop!



Lunch:



Aloha Pokebowl: This is the CUTEST place ever! I absolutely LOVE this restaurant. It’s Hawaiian based and the perfect meal for summer. The bowls include everything from jalapeños to tobiko. The meal tastes so fresh you can tell time was taken to create it. The building is full of vibrant pink and a beautiful greenery wall. I am not a huge seafood fan! Because of this I will order, a little, brown rice, marinated chicken, crunch bowl, without the scallions and tobiko!



Taco Stop MKE: Oh my god. LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! This is my absolute new favorite place for tacos! I had the opportunity to visit Taco Stop MKE after finishing a photo shoot in South Milwaukee. The food is authentic and excellent. Typically when I visit this restaurant, I will order 2 hard shell tacos with everything on it and an order of esquitas with a pineapple Jarrito!


Dinner:



Stella Van Buren: Stella Van Buren is extremely beautiful. I chose to go to Stella after my High School Graduation ceremony. I wasn’t really sure what to expect. When I arrived to the restaurant I was nothing but pleased. The open space throughout the restaurant along with the sunset felt very welcoming for a wonderful steak dinner. The steak along with a side of asparagus and sweet mashed potatoes were delicious to say the least.



The Wicked Hop: If you want to watch a big game, have a great time, and enjoy excellent food, stop at the hop! The restaurant is an edgier themed sports bar and is amazing. I visited on a Monday night when their burger special was going on… absolutely delicious! I had lettuce, tomato, onion, topped with a little mayo on my burger. Additionally, for an appetizer I snacked on cheese curds with a wonderful marinara sauce.



Onesto: Onesto is a very classy restaurant. The mood in the room is perfect for a romantic date night. I visited this Italian restaurant on a super cold December night before Milwaukee’s Nutcracker Ballet performance. The food was amazing and was the perfect amount before an event.



Tasty Treats:



Pete’s Pops: Pete’s Pops has the cutest setup ever! Whether you plan to visit them at a farmers market or at their main location, both are very Instagram friendly. The popsicles here are so random, but SO good! The salted watermelon is my favorite for summer and tastes just like a margarita. (Be careful! Their main location is only open on weekends for an exclusive amount of hours.)



Purple Door Ice Cream: Purple Door Ice Cream is a good stop after a long day at the beach or a long walk. The fresh flavors make it that much more to look forward too. I’m not too certain if I would take photos for my Instagram here, but it’s definitely worth a stop.




Stay stylish,

xoxo

Jen Stack

61 views0 comments
bottom of page