top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen Stack

How To Build Body Confidence For Summer 2019!



In my opinion, summer is both the best and worst time of year - especially if you struggle with your own self-image. It is the best time because not only can you create your own schedule but you have more time for you! It can bite when your best friend asks you to go to the beach and you still don't know how you feel about putting your new swimsuit on. Curious to know how I have built up my self-image positively? Keep reading down below.


xoxo,

Jen Stack


I have struggled with my self-image for a LONG time. My earliest memory of the first time I truly struggled with my self-image had to be when I was in 2nd grade. I'm not sure how or why I remember this scenario, but I do - vividly. Both my sister and I were enrolled at our local private school. With this in mind, our school was so small there were two grades per one classroom. This meant that every other year, my sister and I would be in the same classroom together. One day I decided to wear her blush pink Hershey kiss graphic t-shirt to school. In my defense, I didn't know it was hers. She called me out for it and I felt really bad. After my sister made this comment to me, another girl in my class made a comment about the t-shirt being too small. This led to me sucking in my "stomach" the rest of the day and always wearing bigger clothes throughout the rest of the year.


I know that my story probably is not that bad compared to others, but this story is what started to form my negative opinions on my self-image. Since that time, I primarily struggled with my appearance during middle school up until the end of my sophomore year in high school. I wasn't really sure what I should have been wearing and how I was "supposed" to look.


From this period of time in my life I have learned a lot:


1. Have a healthy diet

I may not be eating as healthy as I should be, but I have noticed that I have been able to maintain my image when making healthier choices.


2. It's okay to buy a size bigger!

Even though clothing brands follow somewhat of the same size measurements, none of them will ever be the same. When I go shopping I go for what is comfortable and looks best. I've noticed that when I purchase an item that I am trying to squeeze into, it leaves me uncomfortable and only wearing it once or twice before I give it away.


3. Stop Comparing Yourself!

You can't compare yourself to a person that works outs 15-20 hours/week and is following a diet personalized for their body. How is that fair to you? What is the outcome of that comparison? How does it leave you feeling?


Throughout my journey I have learned I cannot compare my step 1 to someone else's step 30. If I am not happy with how I look, I am the only person that can change it. Keeping these two key points in mind has kept me happy and healthy.




54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page