top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen Stack

Understanding the importance of setting fall goals with a vision board and How to Keep them




"Anyone who thinks fallen leaves are dead has never watched them dancing on a windy day."

- Shira Tamir


Setting goals is essential because it allows us to have a distinct focus on what is important. Take a moment to think about what is important to you and what you truly want to accomplish in life. The time taken for this will target what is most valuable to you. Additionally, "setting goals gives you long-term visions and short-term motivation." It allows you opportunity to aim for something new and directs your efforts towards a purpose. In my opinion, autumn is the perfect season to reset and renew. It allows us to look at everything we have done or accomplished (both the good and the bad) up until this point of the year. This re-evaluation is refreshing because it gives us a chance to reset our thinking and behavior towards the start of holiday traditions and the rest of the year. What is better than enjoying a long scenic walk in the crisp autumn air or cozying up by the fireplace with a cup of hot cocoa? It is being happy with a goal inspired mindset. This can allow us to truly enjoy our upcoming fall events and look back at them with nothing left but smiles on our faces.


When it comes to setting goals, it is important to have some type of goal setting strategy. Whether it be writing them down or reading it off a post-it note. It's important to vocalize your goals and see it to reality. A goal-setting and accomplishing method which has always worked for me is to create my own vision board. "A vision board is a tool used to help clarify, concentrate and maintain focus on a specific life goal. Literally, a vision board is any sort of board on which you display images that represent whatever you want to be, do, or have in your life." I believe it is and can be one of the most valuable visualization tools available to you.


When I start creating my vision board, I like to think about:


  • My Goals

I like to write down my goals to know what it is I actually want. These goals come from all aspects of my life, both big and small.


  • Is it my goal or a goal someone else is trying to set for me?

After my goals have been wrote down and vocalized, I like to re-evaluate them. It's very easy to get caught up in, "what's trending" rather than what we truly want -- and I can say that I am very much so a victim of this too!


  • Why is my goal important/relevant?

After I have re-evaluated my goals, I will look at the ones that are important and remind myself why they are significant.



After I have invested some time into thinking about my goals, I will look for inspiration to put on my board. Whether it be through photos or quotes, it allows me to expand my ideas on my current goals that are essential to me.


When it comes to making a vision board, get creative! Colors, glitters, textures, and photos are all for grabs! When I'm creating my board, I sometimes have to remind myself this is my creation and there is no room for anyone else's judgement. Using an assortment of different types of content and colors that you choose truly allows you to view it as your vision board, a true masterpiece.


Once your vision board is created, try to take advantage of it and achieve your goals by:


  • Looking at Your Vision Board Multiple Times a Day

It is a necessity to look at your board as soon as you wake up! This is important because it can give you a purpose for the day and something to work hard for. Most people don't have the opportunity to do this often, but try to look at your vision board throughout the day as well. If you do this, it can allow you to feel motivated more and remind you why you are working so hard. Look at it once more before you go to bed. This will allow you to reflect on your day positively.


  • Celebrate!

Once you have accomplished a goal, or a step towards your goal, prioritize to celebrate it! It doesn't have to be anything too fancy, but make an acknowledgement for all of the hard work you dedicated to reaching that certain point. It's a big deal, so make it one!


Having goals is important, but it's also important to take care of yourself and recharge. The point of setting goals is not to be unrealistic, overwhelmed, or disappointed. No matter how passionate you are about something, take a few seconds to recharge and refocus.


Stay stylish,

xoxo

Jen Stack


Sources:



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page