top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen Stack

Is it Worth-It? A Guide to Shopping the Latest Trends Before Making a Mistake



Have you ever walked into a store, bought lots of clothes that are “trending”, and right after you leave, you immediately regret half of the clothes you purchased? Nothing is worse than spending money on clothes you will wear no more than once or twice. You are not alone. This dilemma happens to many – myself included.


After I have realized I do not like the clothes I have bought, the chances of taking them back to return them are slim to none. Usually, they find a home forgotten, in the back of my closet. Not only does this make spring cleaning annoying, but it is also can create an anxiety-prone environment. It can create this type of an environment because the clothing article can be a reminder of a waste of money or even worse.


It can be really hard to save money when so many are influenced to spend it on the latest trends just to “fit in” or “look cool”. The unfortunate thing about “trends” is that they can really hurt a person’s self-esteem – especially when it comes to trying on clothes and how unaffordable they can get. Many ask themselves questions such as, “Do I look fat in this?” “Will I be ‘liked’ more if I wear this?” or just about cry when they cannot afford the clothing article or have to go a size up because something does not look right or fit a certain way. Having struggled with these questions and thoughts for a long time, I believe it’s time for them to come to an end. With not only a new year in place, but a new decade, I believe it is important not only for myself, but for others to feel comfortable within their own skin regardless if they are wearing trendy clothes or not. At the end of the day, trends will come and go, but you will not. The guide I have created down below is all about trying clothes properly (Not just “trending” clothes, but all clothes). No, I am not going to tell you what arm should go in first or how to pull up a pair of pants, but what I am going to show you is how to try on clothes that will make you feel good and confident in your own skin.


Stay stylish,

Jen Stack



Dress Comfy

Before even walking into a store, it is important to feel comfortable with yourself. For me, this is dressing cozy because nothing sucks more than having to take off an entire entourage of an outfit just to have to put it back on – especially if you are shopping at more than just one store. Depending on the season, my outfits can range from a cute sundress to leggings and a sweatshirt. (Rarely with accessories!) Sundresses are convenient because they are easy to slip on and off taking only seconds until you’re trying that new cute top on. I also like to wear sundresses because it is an outfit that is effortless, but can look like time was spent on the outfit.


If it is a bit chillier, my go-to is definitely a half button up sweater, leggings, and tennis shoes. While it may take a few seconds more to slip on and off, to me, it is important to stay comfortable.


Nothing is worse than walking around in an uncomfortable pair of jeans or a restricting top. Wearing clothes that can be restricting or uncomfortable can also often limit you. After some time, it can feel like a hassle to have to take on and off your clothes. This can lead to not trying on the right pieces of clothing that will make you feel good. When this happens, you are more likely to stick with an outfit that may only be worn once or twice. (We don’t want this!)


Side Note! - Even though I dress somewhat laid back, I always make sure I am feeling my best. For me personally, this means my hair is done and I have some makeup on. This is important to me because without these two necessities, I tend to be a little hard on myself which lacks my confidence. It is important to still feel good and confident about yourself; Nothing is worse than getting in a fitting room and not feeling good about yourself because of something minor that can be changed.



Have Options

When looking around in a store, it is important to grab more than one style of clothing. This may range from a low-cut sweater to a cropped t-shirt or high-rise jeans to boyfriend jeans. With whatever you choose, it is important to have options while you are in the fitting room. Not every clothing article is going to fit how you might like it too. A top may look great in your chest area but feel horrible on your arms, or a pair of jeans may make your butt look great and your calves not-so-great. A benefit from doing this is you will allow you to have endless options to create different outfit ideas and see what you feel looks better and feels more comfortable as well.


In addition to grabbing different styles of clothing, I think it is also a good idea to grab different colors! I like grabbing different colors because depending on your skin tone, some colors may make your appearance tanner or make you look washed out. Also, it can allow your features to stand out. For example, I wear the color black frequently because it makes me look tanner. I also wear the color blue often because it makes my eyes stand out.



Use the Hooks

Regardless of how many clothing articles you plan to try on, remember to take advantage of all of the hooks! They are there for a reason. In an average fitting room, there are usually two hooks – or three if you’re lucky. Designate each hook for what you want and do not want. For example, you can name the hooks a “yes,” “no,” and a “maybe.” Assigning and designating spots for each clothing article will help you stay organized and show you what you really want.


If you have some clothes in the “maybe” section, and are debating whether to purchase them or not, think of these questions:

  • How often will I wear this?

  • What can I wear this with?

  • Is it my style or am I trying to fit in?



Get a Look from All Angles

After putting on the silhouette, make sure to take a 360-degree look at it. (This is why most fitting rooms have a “runway” or “catwalk” so you can see the entire outfit!) If walking down the “runway” is not your thing, have a friend or an employee take a photo/video of the back of the outfit. Having a 360-degree knowledgeable view, can help determine whether the clothing article is worth the splurge or not. Additionally, it can help if you are trying on a style you typically do not wear or are unfamiliar with.



Don’t Be Afraid to Size Up

It can be very devastating when you are in a fitting room, really excited to try a piece on and it is not fitting the way you want it too. While shopping, it is important to remember that all stores have a different sizing guide and chart. For example, Dry Goods (a boutique owned by Von Maur) is going to have a different size pattern than Urban Outfitters. This is because, they are two different companies with different visions and a different clientele. If you have to go up a size, please do not think it is because you are “fat” or “bigger.” Most of the time when you do go a size up, the silhouette is going to look more flattering and you might even feel more comfortable.


The size of a piece of clothing does not and should not define you. I do not do this very often, but if a size of a shirt or a pair of pants is bothering me so much, I will cut the tags off of the silhouette; There is no label on it and now I can wear it without thinking about how “big” the piece of clothing is.



Clean Up After Yourself

Once you have chosen what you’re going to keep and what’s not your favorite, it is important to remove the unwanted clothes out of the fitting room. Nothing is worse than walking into a messy fitting room. If an associate is not helping you, (normally they do) typically, there is a clothing rack in or next to the fitting rooms specifically for clothes that people do not want. As you are walking out of the changing room, hang your unwanted clothes on this rack. By doing this, it shows a sign of respect. Most of the time, you are not expected to take your clothes out of the fitting room because part of a sales associate’s job is to clean up after customers. Even though it is part of their job, in my heart I believe it is the right thing to do. It shows that you have a sign of respect for the space you are using, the employees, and the store as a whole.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page